International News

Kolkata Knight Riders beat Delhi Daredevils by 17 runs

(The Times Of India)
Iqbal Abdulla took three wickets after Manoj Tiwary’s 61 as Kolkata Knight Riders beat Delhi Daredevils by 17 runs in their IPL match at Ferozeshah Kotla in New Delhi on Thursday.

Chasing 149, Delhi could manage 131/9 in their 20 overs.

Delhi lost two wickets in two balls when Venugopal Rao and Ajit Agarkar were run out off consecutive deliveries.

Delhi lost their fifth wicket when Abdulla had James Hopes caught by Manoj Tiwary at deep mid-wicket and in the same over had Naman Ojha caught by Brett Lee at long-on to reduce Delhi to 85/6.

Abdulla had Irfan Pathan caught by Ryan ten Doeschate at deep mid-wicket as Delhi Daredevils lost their third wicket.

Delhi lost their second wicket when Jaidev Unadkat had Virender Sehwag caught by Laxmipathy Balaji at fine-leg.

Sehwag hit a six and 5 fours in his 23-ball 34 before falling to Unadkat.

Delhi’s run chase got off to a bad start as David Warner edged a Laxmipathy Balaji delivery onto his stumps in the second over.

Earlier, Umesh Yadav took 2 wickets as Delhi restricted Kolkata to 148/7 despite an unbeaten 61 from Manoj Tiwary.

Tiwary’s knock that came off 47 balls was studded with 3 sixes and 2 fours.

Kolkata lost their sixth wicket when Morne Morkel had Ryan ten Doeschate caught by Yusuf Pathan in the covers. ten Doeschate hit a six and 2 fours in his 12-ball 19.

Tiwary reached his fifty off 37 balls after Yadav dismissed Yusuf Pathan and Eoin Morgan off successive deliveries.

Yadav first had Yusuf caught by Irfan at long-on and on the next ball Morgan mistimed a pull high up in the air for wicket-keeper Naman Ojha to take the catch.

Kolkata lost their third wicket when James Hopes had Gautam Gambhir caught by Venugopal Rao at deep mid-wicket.

Gambhir hit 2 fours in his 19-ball 18 before falling to Hopes.

Irfan Pathan and Ajit Agarkar dismissed Jacques Kallis and Shreevats Goswami respectively to make early inroads into the Kolkata innings.

Pathan gave Delhi the breakthrough when he clean bowled Jacques Kallis from behind his legs in the fifth over.

Kallis looked to play a glance but moved towards the off-stump a bit too much and that left his leg-stump exposed.

Agarkar struck on his first delivery when he had Shreevats Goswami caught behind by Naman Ojha to place Kolkata at 42/2.

The breakthroughs came after Delhi Daredevils captain Virender Sehwag won the toss and chose to bowl.


Delhi Daredevils: Virender Sehwag (Capt.), David Warner, Yogesh Nagar, Naman Ojha, Y Venugopal Rao, Irfan Pathan, James Hopes, Morne Morkel, Ajit Agarkar, Umesh Yadav, Travis Birt.

Kolkata Knight Riders: Gautam Gambhir (Capt.), Jacques Kallis, Shreevats Goswami, Manoj Tiwary, Yusuf Pathan, Eoin Morgan, Ryan ten Doeschate, Iqbal Abdulla, Jaidev Unadkat, Laxmipathy Balaji, Brett Lee.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Latest News

Nepal's No.1 Cricket Portal now in Nepali Language.

Follow us

Copyright © 2010-2017 All Rights Reserved.

To Top