International News

Trott crowned ICC Cricketer of the Year as Cook wins Test award

England had cause for double celebration on Monday night after Jonathan Trott was named the International Cricket Council’s Cricketer of the Year while his fellow Ashes-winner Alastair Cook took home the Test Cricketer of the Year Award.

Trott, who alongside Cook was a bedrock of England’s victory in Australia last winter with 445 runs from number three, took the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy Award ahead of fellow short-list nominees Sachin Tendulkar and Hashim Amla.

After receiving the award at a dinner at London’s Grosvenor House Hotel, Trott spoke of his delight at an accolade that honoured not just his but England’s achievements over the last 12 months.

Aside from retaining the tiny urn with their first Ashes series win on Australian soil in 24 years, England also secured the No.1 Test ranking spot with a 4-0 series whitewash over former top dogs India.

Asked for his favourite memory, the Trott had no hesitation nominating not one of his innings but his run-out of Australia’s Simon Katich on the first morning of the second Test in Adelaide.

“That run-out in the first over of the game – it was the first time I’ve ever got to run around a cricket field like a football striker scoring a goal,” said the South African-born batsman. “That was the best highlight for me – although I have to say as a team Melbourne [where England retained the Asges] was special.”

Cook, who made a near all-time Ashes record 766 runs in Australia, won his award ahead of team-mates Trott and James Anderson, as well as South Africa’s Jacques Kallis.

Cook’s most treasured recollection of last winter came in the final-Test victory at Sydney, where England wrapped up a 3-1 scoreline to retain the Ashes.

“It would have to be Sydney, when Chris Tremlett took that final wicket,” said the opener. “This award is for the England team as much as me. I was quite lucky I was in a bit of form, and we cashed in a bit. But our bowlers were the key to the Ashes.”

Former Sri Lanka captain Kumar Sangakkara is the ODI Cricketer of the Year, having made more than 1,000 runs in 25 matches and led his team to the World Cup final as well as accounting for 36 victims in his wicketkeeping role.

Among the other winners were India’s World Cup-winning captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni, who took the Spirit of Cricket award for his part in recalling England’s Ian Bell after his controversial run-out during this summer’s Trent Bridge Test.

Meanwhile, Ireland’s Kevin O’Brien was edged out as the ICC’s Associate Player of the Year by Holland’s Ryan ten Doeschate, also of Essex, while New Zealand bowler Tim Southee won the award for the year’s outstanding Twenty20 performance.

West Indies leg-spinner Davendra Bishoo was named Emerging Player of the Year, and Stafanie Taylor – also from the Caribbean – was the Women’s Cricketer of the Year.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Latest News

To Top