International News Nepal Cricket

ACC revise fixtures for Twenty20 Cup

Visit the Re-vised Fixtures of ACC Twenty20 Cup 2011 | Group Chart

Asian Cricket Council (ACC)  revised the groupings and fixtures for the ACC Twenty20 Cup to be held in Kathmandu in December.

After the revision, Nepal is now placed in Group B along with Hong Kong, the United Arab Emirates, Kuwait and Saudi Arabia. Whereas Afghanistan, Malaysia, Bhutan, Oman and the Maldives are grouped in Group A.

In the earlier draw, which according to ACC was mistakenly published, Malaysia and Bhutan were in Nepal´s group while Hong Kong and Kuwait were in Group A.

According to ACC, the earlier groupings and fixtures were not based on the rankings of the ACC Trophy Elite 2010.

Afghanistan had won the Trophy Elite defeating Nepal in the final, whereas Hong Kong had finished third defeating Malaysia in the third-place playoff.

The tournament is part of the qualifying process for ICC World Twenty20 Cup 2012.

The top three teams from this competition will join Afghanistan, Canada, Ireland, Kenya, the Netherlands and Scotland in the 16-team ICC World Twenty20 Qualifiers to be played in the UAE in March 2012. The finalists of the UAE event will qualify for the World Cup Twenty20.

Nepal will play Hong Kong in the inaugural match of the ACC Twenty20 Cup at the TU Cricket Ground on December 3.

Updated via



About the author

Nischal Tiwari

Nischal Tiwari is the Founder/Editor of, Nepal's popular cricket News website. He is a sports Journalist and writes cricket news and articles.

Follow @nischaltiwari

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Latest News