Sunil’s Ton Gives Kanchanpur Second Victory


Kanchanpur 281/4 (Sunil Dhamala 128, Nischal Pandey 2/44) beat Nepalgunj 159/10 in 34.3 overs(Anil Gurung 59, Deependra Airee 3/18) by 122 runs

New entrants Regoin Number 9 Kanchanpur registered second straight win in the tournament as they eased past Region Number 8 Pokhara by massive 122 run as opener Sunil Dhamala scored the first century of the tournament.

Batting first riding on 128 runs from Sunil Kanchanpur posted 281/4 batting all fifty overs. This was the highest total of the tournament so far and only the first time a team batted the whole 50 overs.

Captain of Kanchanpur Bhuwan Karki made firey 52 n.o of 33 balls to push Kanchanpur’s score.

In reply Pokhara was folded for 159 runs 43rd over. Anil Gurung provided slight resistance with innings off 59 runs. Akash Thapa made fighting 34 for Pokhara. Deependra Airee took three wickets for Kanchanpur.

Sunil Dhamala a tooklso k 2 wickets and was declared the player of the match. This was the second man of the match is as many matches for Sunil. His inning of 38 runs and a wicket in first innigs had earned him man of the match against Nepalgunj yesterday
Janakpur Flying High with Third Straight Win

Janakpur 206/10 in 44.3 overs(Rahul Pratap Singh 38, Akash Bista 5/23) beat Nepalgunj 148/10 in 42.4 overs( Prajjwal Shahi 35, Harishankar Shah 6/27)

Region number 8 Janakpur registered third straight win thanks to 6 wicket haul from Hari Shankar Sha. Janakpur defeated Nepalgunj by 58 runs. This was second straight defeat for Nepalgunj.

Winning the toss and batting first Janakpur posted 206 runs before getting all out in 44.5 overs.Captain Rahul Pratap Singh top scored for Janakpur with 38 off 41 balls, opener Chandan Jha made steady 37. Aakash Bista was the star with the ball once again for Nepalgunj as he bagged 5 wickets.

After losing Wasim Halwai early, opener Prajjwal Shahi and Bhupendra Thapa added 62 run for second wicket. Abishek Jha, player of the match of the previous match for Janakpur who had 10 wickets to his name in the tournament broke the partnership getting rid of Shahi lbw for 18. He struck once more two overs later, Bhupendra missed a straigt one from Jha to be his second victim.

Hari Shankar Sha then destroyed Nepalgunj’s middle and lower order gettin 6 wickets. Except number 11 Anup Thapa who fell to Rahul Pratap Singh, all other wickets went to Sha. Sha was adjudged the man of the match for his match winning figures of 9-2-27-6.




About the author

Arun Upreti

Arun Upreti shares his deep rooted passion for Cricket working at Cricnepal. His stories often contains detailed history and clinical examination of several aspects of the game.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Latest News