Nepal Name Squad for World Cup: Naresh and Rahul in Final 15

Naresh back for Senior side after 5 years, Rahul Viswakarma also included.

Cricket Association of Nepal today named the 15-man Nepal squad for the ICC World Twenty20 2014 campaign in Bangladesh.

Paras Khadka(captain), Gyanendra Malla, Sharad Vesawkar, Sompal Kami, Shakti Gauchan, Basanta Regmi, Prithu Baskota, Binod Bhhandari, Pradeep AIree, Naresh Budhayer, Sagar Pun, Jitendra Mukhiya, Rahul B.K, Subash Khakurel, Avinash Karn.

Reserve Players
Anil Mandal, Mahesh Chhetri, Bhuwan Karki and Amrit Bhattarai

New to the squad is young Naresh Budhayer who had previously represented Nepal in ACC T20 2009-where he played 1 innigs of unbeaten 32 runs. Rahul B.K-regular to the national squad but had been left out for ICC WOrld Cup Qualifiers has also been included in the final 15.

Nepal will undertake an intensive training and match practice program inDubai before heading on to Bangladesh on 10th March 2014.

In Bangladesh, the team will be based in the port city of Chittagong and will play two warm-up games against Ireland and UAE before facing Hong Kongl, Bangladesh and Afghanistan in ICC World Twenty20 2014 group matches. Matches against Ireland, HongKong and Bangladesh will be played under lights.

ICC World Twenty20 2014 Itinerary for Nepal:

March 12, v. Ireland(D/N) (warm-up game)
March 14, v. UAE(warm-up game)
March 16, v. Hong Kong (D/N)
March 18, v. Bangladesh (D/N)
March 20, v. Afghanistan

More to follow…



Latest News