In Focus

CAN forms committee under ‘Mission World Cup 2019’; Dipak Koirala named acting president

Kathmandu- The Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) has named Dipak Koirala as the acting president amid a board meeting in Kathmandu today. The post had gone vacant after former acting president Tarini Bikram Shah passed away on January 25.

The board meeting has agreed to continue Uttam Karmacharya as the acting secretary while Sailesh Chaudhary has been appointed as treasurer.

The board meeting has also formed a committee under “Mission World Cup 2019” which aims on helping Nepal progress to the 2019 World Cup keeping a close eye on ICC World Cricket League which will be started shortly. The eight-member body contains Skipper Paras Khadka, Coach Pubudu Dassanayeke, acting president Dipak Koirala, acting secretary Uttam Karmacharya, treasurer Sailesh Chaudhary, CEO Bhawana Ghimire and a representative each from National Sports Council and Ministry of Youth and Sports.

The board has decided to conduct Men’s Senior National One Day and T20 Cricket Tournament from 2071 from March 11. Meanwhile, CAN has also decided to conduct Inter School Women Cricket Tournament from February 25 in Hariwan and Lahan.

Jagat Tamata has been appointed as the coach for U-19 men’s team for one year as per the board meeting while Samsom Thapa has been handed the duty of Women team.



  1. upen

    February 13, 2015 at 3:40 am

    Only its paper work, try to implement practically.

  2. sundar bashyal

    February 13, 2015 at 8:48 pm

    Ramro batsman haru khojnu paryo, Nepali team lai exposure dinu paryo…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Latest News

Nepal's No.1 Cricket Portal now in Nepali Language.

Follow us

Copyright © 2010-2017 All Rights Reserved.

To Top