Cricket Grounds

Cricket was introduced to Nepal by the ruling Rana dynasty when they returned from studies in England and India in the 1920s, though the game was kept very much for themselves and other members of the elite. The Cricket Association of Nepal was formed in 1946 to promote cricket amongst the aristocracy.

When King Tribhuvan overthrew the Rana family in 1951, cricket began to spread to the rest of the population. In 1961, in an effort to promote cricket in the whole of Nepal, the Cricket Association of Nepal became part of the National Sports Council. Nevertheless, the game tended to be limited to Kathmandu until the 1980s.

There are 65 grounds in Nepal with 17 turf wickets. International matches can be played only at the Tribhuvan University ground. A new international standard ground is under construction at Mulpani, Kathmandu and another is going to be built at Pokhara with some help from the Asian Cricket Council.

[tab:List of Grounds]

[tab:Tournaments held in Nepal]

  • Pepsi Asian Cricket Council Trophy 1998/99
  • Tempo World Legends Cup 1998/99
  • ACC Emerging Nations Tournament 2002/03
  • India Under-19s in Nepal 2002/03
  • ACC Emerging Nations Tournament 2003/04
  • ACC Fast Track Countries Tournament 2004
  • ACC Fast Track Countries Tournament 2005
  • ACC Under-19 Cup 2005/06
  • ACC Under-15 Cup Elite Division 2007/08
  • ACC Under-17 Elite Cup 2008/09
  • Marylebone Cricket Club in Nepal 2008/09
  • ICC World Cricket League Division Five 2009/10
  • ACC Under-16 Elite Cup 2009/10
  • ACC Twenty20 Cup 2011/12
  • ACC Twenty20 Cup 2012/13
  • Journey To World Cup 2013

Discussion about this page