Pakistan beat West Indies by three wickets

BRIDGETOWN: Pakistan beat West Indies by three wickets in their rain-affected third one-day International on Thursday at Kensington Oval here to take an unassailable 3-0 lead in the best of five series.

Earlier, Saeed Ajmal and Wahab Riaz enhanced Pakistan’s chances of a series-clinching victory in the rain-affected third one-day International against West Indies.

Ajmal captured three for 29 from 8.4 overs, and Wahab took three for 38 from eight overs, as Pakistan dismissed their hosts for 171 in 43.4 overs after choosing to field in the match at Kensington Oval.

The visitors appeared to be under pressure, when compatriots Lendl Simmons and Darren Bravo comfortably added 86 for the second wicket in a volley of strokes before Ajmal and Wahab brought Pakistan back into the match, which was reduced to 45 overs-a-side.

Saeed held a return catch in the 21st over to dismiss Simmons for the West Indies top score of 51, and Mohammad Hafeez trapped Darren Bravo lbw for 47 in the 28th over to leave the home team on 118 for three.

But Saeed and Wahab ensured there was no fight-back from the remaining batsmen, as they all failed to offer any substance or stability before a disappointed holiday crowd.

Pakistan are playing an unchanged line-up, but West Indies made two changes, replacing Anthony Martin and wicketkeeper/batsman Carlton Baugh Jr with fast bowlers Andre Russell and Ravi Rampaul.

Play began an hour and 45 minutes later than scheduled, after rain delayed the start of the match on the day that the island celebrates their national heroes, including legendary former West Indies all-rounder Garfield Sobers.

The Pakistanis lead the five match series 2-0, following an eight-wicket victory in the first ODI last Saturday at the Beausejour Cricket Ground in St. Lucia, where they also won the second ODI by seven wickets.

West Indies 1 Lendl Simmons (wk), 2 Devon Smith, 3 Darren Bravo, 4 Marlon Samuels, 5 Kirk Edwards, 6 Dwayne Bravo, 7 Darren Sammy (capt), 8 Andre Russell, 9 Kemar Roach, 10 Ravi Rampaul, 11 Devendra Bishoo

Pakistan 1 Mohammad Hafeez, 2 Ahmed Shehzad, 3 Asad Shafiq, 4 Misbah-ul-Haq, 5 Umar Akmal, 6 Shahid Afridi (capt), 7 Mohammad Salman (wk), 8 Hammad Azam, 9 Junaid Khan, 10 Wahab Riaz, 11 Saeed Ajmal

यस लेखमा उल्लेखित विषयहरु

Related Stories

More Stories