India Women Crowned ACC T20 Champions

Cricnepal/Kathmandu – India clinched the ACC women’s T20 title beating Pakistan in the finals of the tournament held in Guangzhou, China yesterday.

India had absolutely smashed Pakistan earlier in the tournament in their Group A match, but with the Indian captain Maitali Raj and experienced campaigner Julan Goshami not playing due to injury Pakistan team started as favorites. Batting first India was knocked over mere 81 of the full quota of overs. Pakistan’s Sana Mir picked up four wickets including that of acting Captain Kaur(20) and Niranjana(18) and gave away only thirteen runs of four overs to restrict India to a low score.

India celebrate after beating Pakistan in the final of the ACC Women’s T20 Asia Cup on Wednesday. Photo: ICC Media

The second inning, however , was dominated by the Indain Bowlers. Pakistan never looked like getting to the total and eventually were bolwed for just 63.Bismah Maroof of Pakistan top scored for Pakistan with 18 runs of 40 balls. Archana Das and Nagarajan Niranjana bagged two wickets each restrict Pakistan to 63.

Earlier Poonam Raut had scored a quick fire 25 of 33 balls to get the Indian total to 81 and was declared the player of the match for her valiant effort with the bat. Poonam came to bat in the first over at the fall of first of first wicket and when India lost the second wicket in the second over with just 4 runs on the board things looked pretty gloomy. She added 34 runs with captain Kaur for the third wicket, and did most of the score to steady the Indian innings and eventually got out when the score was 36.

Bismah Maroof was declared the player of the tournament. She was the highest run getter in the tournament and had scored 113 from the 5 matches with an average of 28. She also picked up 5 wickets in the tournament with impressive economy and strike rate- 3.85 and 14 respectively. Reema manhotra was the highest wicket taker with 4 wickets; Nepal’s captain Rubina Chhetri was 11th on the chart with 5 wickets.

The tournament was organized in Guangzhou, China from 24th -31st October. Eight top women’s team from Asia participated in the tournament including four team with ODI status; India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh. The other four team Nepal, Hong Kong, China, and Thailand qualified for the tournament capturing the top four spots in the ACC Elite Cup, held in Kuwait in February 2011.

By Arun Upreti for Cricnepal

यस लेखमा उल्लेखित विषयहरु

Related Stories

More Stories