Dhangadhi Team Chauraha crowned inaugural DPL Champion

Dhangadhi/cricnepal – Dhangadhi Team Chauraha clinched the inaugural Dhangadhi Premier League (DPL) title after a comprehensive 62 runs win over Biratnagar Kings in the final at SSP Cricket Ground, Dhangadi on Saturday.

Dhangadhi Team Chauraha 159/5 (20 ov) defeated Biratnagar Kings 97 (18.1 ov) by 62 runs.
Quick Singles – Click here to see the Tournament Stats.

Dhangadhi Team Chauraha won the toss and chose to bat.

First Innings:
Raju Rijal 0(10) and Anil Mandal 2(4) opened the batting for DT Chauraha but both failed cheaply. Prithu Baskota and Skipper Paras Khadka then shared a 33 runs partnership for the third wicket to take the score to 3/37 in 9.2 overs. The first powerplay produced 16 runs and two wickets as batsmen continued to struggle due to the slowness of the wicket and good bowling.

Baskota was dismissed for 14(22) by Sandip Lamichhane and Khadka was next to follow as he was caught off Sushil Kandel for 29(34). DT Chauraha scored their 50 runs in 12.2 overs and took 97 balls to bring their 100 runs.

Aarif Sheikh

Five overs to go, Aarif Sheikh and Amar Singh Routela started smashing the bowlers and brought 50 runs partnership in just 20 balls. Sheikh brought his half-century in 28 balls with 4 fours and 4 sixes. Once, he was dismissed for 54 runs, Saurav Khanal played a little cameo, smashing 14 off 5 balls with a four and a six. Meanwhile, Routela remained unbeaten for 31 runs off 15 balls including 3 fours and 2 sixes.

Sushil Kandel (4-0-32-2) grabbed two wickets in his four overs whilst Jitendra Mukhiya and Prakash Bista shared wicket a piece.

Second Innings:
Biratnagar Kings lost their important wicket of opener Aasif Sheikh (3) during the first powerplay and continued to struggle in the rest of their inning. Amit Shrestha, the other opener, tried to occupy the crease but failed to convert it. He could only score 26(27) with 4 fours.

The Biratnagar team’s hope were still alive due to the presence of the rising star Dipendra Singh Airee and the finisher Sharad Vesawkar. But, Sushan Bhari had his other thoughts as he dismissed both of them in a same over.

Chasing 159 runs, Biratnagar team continued losing the wickets at regular intervals and bundled out for 97 runs in 18.1 overs. Pranit Thapa Magar was the top scorer with 27 runs in 22 balls with 3 boundaries.

Sushan Bhari (4-1-18-3) was the pick of the bowlers as he took three wickets. Saurav Khanal and Aarif Sheikh grabbed two wickets whilst Lalit Rajbanshi and Ramnaresh Giri shared wicket apiece.


Aarif Sheikh was adjudged Man of the Match while Sushil Kandel received the Man of the Series Award and a 200 CC Apache Motorbike.

Team Chauraha Dhangadhi received a cash prize of NRs. 15,00,000 and a trophy whilst the runners up was awarded with NRs. 7,00,000 cash and a trophy.

यस लेखमा उल्लेखित विषयहरु

Related Stories

More Stories